Posted in Uncategorized

A poem for my sister

It was in the winter of 1999

When you entered our family of three

As a chubby, rosy but silly baby

An adorable addition to our bloodline

The first time I held you

I knew you were trouble

Your mischievous eyes stared into mine

And I knew I was stuck with you

Until the end of time

You soon turned a dramatic eight

And my constant source of annoyance

Always following me and my playmate

Making funny faces in defiance

You then entered your teens

While I was at university, trying to adult

Our bond shifted like gears of machines

And we struck chords of deep friendship

We began to confide our secrets anew

I shared my successes and failures

For you to learn and take the easier way

As I was concerned of any troubles

Big or small, befalling you

We went on long drives

Blasting off music, heading to our favorite beach

Shared a liking to each other’s favorite snacks

And had laughs over chai and stories of heartbreaks

Amidst all this, I didn’t notice you grow up

It seems so soon and unreal

That you’re teenage years are up

But proud I am for real

To see the woman in you, my dear

Who’s blossoming, beautiful and kind

And wise and passionate about life

Stay the way you are

Unless change is for the good

Guard yourself like a treasure

Against any folly or evil misunderstood

Happy birthday to you

My sister, my confidante

May you have many more

Days filled with light, not blue.

Author:

Hyderabadi-born, Dubai-raised, a hybrid of introvert and extrovert, walking clown among friends, angry-looking stranger but above all, a LOVER of peace, family, friends, BOOKS and FOOD!

Leave a comment